I am now officially crazy dog guy.

Yep, its official.

I always thought that three was the threshold before you got to “crazy” status.  For example a lady with three or more cats = crazy cat lady.

 

I think, though, in this case, I have hit the crazy status with only two.  I have had my dog Molly for nine years now, and she’s been a great dog.  She’s been spending time around another dog recently and I can actually see a positive difference in her health, so it got me to thinking… But I never could go through with it.

"Hi - I would like to order a dog, please.  So people know that I am not a dog.  Thanks."

“Hi – I would like to order a dog, please. So people know that I am not a dog. Because I’m not.  Thanks.”

Fast forward to last weekend while I was at the White Rock Market.  I’m just walking around minding my own business when I see this dog, and knew he was for me.  Back nine years ago, everyone involved knew that molly was “It.”  And she has been.

So for whatever reason, I filled out an application, and the next day:

 

"I am literally going to murder you with cuteness."

“I am literally going to murder you with cuteness.”

So I’m in Day three.  So far this dog is amazingly smart.  It took about 10 minutes to get him to sit on command.  Now, by comparison, it took Molly… 8.5 years.  Granted, Molly has magic talents such as holding her bladder for insane periods, but that’s because she’s a dachshund: I think her extended body comprises mostly of bladder.

So far, hes been great in a crate, has never made a mistake in the house, and is very polite (and learns very quickly).  I adopted him from an organization called Angie’s Friends, a not for profit which fosters strays from blighted neighborhoods and finds new homes for them.  Sampson here was 3 month old when he was found, and is now 7 – I think she was afraid he was starting to get too big to find a home.  But, he’s found one now.

 

2 thoughts on “I am now officially crazy dog guy.

Leave a Reply

