Here we go…

I’m all in.  I think.

Tuesday was a big day for me.  I finally bought a “new” bike: Last year’s Cannondale Supersix 4, which I think means a bunch of cool things.  I think.  The guy I bought it from said he tried to ride a little, but couldn’t keep up with his friends… So he ditched the effort.  I’m happy to take it off his hands!

Not the coolest picture, but whatever.

Not the coolest picture, but whatever.

This week I registered for the Hotter’n Hell 100 ride in Wichita Falls in late August.  Typically the hottest days of the year in the hottest part of the country, this 100 mile ride is one of the biggest in the country, pulling in something like 14,000 cyclists.  Last year, however, it was 94 degrees the whole day.  There was a strong south wind which blew in our faces for 20 straight miles, but… the temperature wasn’t so bad.  However, I took a LONG time.  I spent 6 hours riding and 2 hours chatting it up at rest stops, for a grand total of just over 8 hours.

2012 HHH Route

Here was the route last year from my iPhone app… Apparently lots of complaints about it so they’re changing back.

This year, I want to do better.  What most people might consider an ally of mine is my biggest foe: I have a very high metabolism, even at 34.  Although its nice to be this age and still have abs, my burn rate is so high that it is hard to bike long distances in the heat without constant refueling.

I think this is the only picture I took last year.  Idiot.

I think this is the only picture I took last year. Idiot.

Or so I thought.

This year I am employing the help of some nutrition enthusiasts – a couple from my gym who is offering a this to interested people.  They’ve worked out a meal plan and are willing to tailor it to my “special needs” (I guess not many people in their mid thirties wouldn’t mind putting on some weight).  So, although I am starting some real training with my new toy, I’m also monitoring my diet and making adjustments.

I’ve been doing what I call “paleo lite” for a while.  I don’t like bread and dairy, so that wasn’t an issue.  I follow the diet mostly during the day, and go out as I want – I would say altogether I follow the diet an honest 70%.  So… the adjustments:

So far the biggest ones that I haven’t done yet are:

  1. Hydration.  For my level of output (crossfit 3 times a week, one long ride, one short): 1 oz. of water per pound of body weight.  Currently I’m between 160 and 165.   That.  Is.  A. Lot.
  2. Fat intake: I have been very low on fat intake, especially the last few years.  but naturally I never did eat a lot of fat.  As it turns out, that may be why I can be so damned moody when I don’t eat.  This adjustment may save lives – time will tell.
  3. Protein intake.  I thought I ate a lot of meat.  I didn’t really realize it, but I guess my output is sort of high.  Again, I will have a goal of one gram of protein per pound of body weight per day.  First off, I don’t even know how many grams of protein are in anything.  Second, holy crap.
Maybe that will do.  Via

Maybe that will do. Via

So here we go.  I have a set date, a lousy time to beat, and a full-on experiment on how diet might change my performance.  I’ll probably end up training more, too.  If I keep writing about this stuff, I’ll probably push myself hard enough to keep doing it… Maybe I won’t fall off of the wagon in September!  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

