The only way to title a blog post. Or… Top ten ways to title a blog post.

So I know lists are popular, but I think it’s getting out of hand.

Says the guy with a blog that no one looks at.

I’m looking at an email generated by LinkedIn which shows the top posts from influencers:

Linkein top 10

Oh look, the email is a top 10 list.

Three Things I’ve Learned From Warren Buffett

The Number One Job Skill in 2020

Hire Economics: Why Applying to Jobs Is a Waste of Time

The Only Way To Raise Your Salary

The Essential Hallmarks of a Good Leader

Don’t Work With Jerks: 5 Lessons I Learned From My Dad

8 Simple Ways to Inspire Yourself at Work

Answering the Question “Why Should We Hire You?”

7 Ways to Dramatically Advance Your Career

How Facebook ‘Likes’ Reveal Your Intimate Secrets

So 10 things.  In the title, 6 of them indicate a number of points (I’m including such titles as “number one,” and “the only.”  Even Bill Gates (author of the first one) is falling into this line of making lists.  I know my friend Bob, author of Life of An Architect, started seeing huge growth in his readership when he wrote “top 10 Reasons Not to be an Architect.”

I also follow Thought Catalog, even though I’m not in my early twenties any more (or my twenties, for that matter), never lived in New York, and I don’t complain or cry about everything that happens to me.  I haven’t taken a tally on that one and I don’t look through it THAT much, but it seems that an overwhelming amount are lists about one thing or another.

I guess people like to get to the bottom of things quickly, and filter a lot of self-fulfilling text in posts like this one to get to the point.  But then when I read a lot of these, they’re not entirely useful (although some are funny – which to me, is useful).

Anyway, here’s hope to building a better blog.  Maybe I’ll come out with a list on how to do it.

No I won’t.

Leave a Reply

